Search KB

 

Did you know?

If you get your services down a fibre optic cable you are a Cable user. If you get your services down a phone line you are a National user.

 

Help for National customers

Check your service statusCableNational

Broadband and Internet :

Broadband Connection

How to reset the NETGEAR router to factory default settings for National customers

This article is recommended to advanced users only.

Note: before you start please ensure that you have connected your computer to the router via the yellow Ethernet cable supplied with the router and that you have the welcome letter from Virgin Media, which contains your Virgin Media broadband username, e.g. richard.branson@adsl.virgin.net and your broadband password. If the Ethernet cable is not available, or if the router isn't connected via the Ethernet cable after the reset, you will be unable to reconfigure the router.

1. With the router switched on, use a pencil or something similar to press the reset button located on the back of the unit and keep it pressed for at least 15 seconds, until the lights begin to flash. Here's where to find the reset button:

2. Wait until the Test light turns solid green, and then let the reset button go.

Now the router's back at its default settings, go to Running the Setup Wizard below.

Running the Setup Wizard

After you have reset the router:

1. Connect your computer to the router using the yellow Ethernet cable supplied with the router.

2. Log in to the router by typing 192.168.0.1 into the address bar of your Web browser.

3. You should be prompted for the router's current username and password, both of which should be printed on the underside of the router. Remember that these username and password details are not the same as those of your Virgin Media National account.

After you click OK, the router's administration interface will load.

4. From the router interface menu, select Setup Wizard.

5. Follow the on-screen instructions to enter your Virgin Media broadband username and password to restore service, and to set up your wireless network name and password.

Please note that resetting the router will have changed the wireless network name and password to the default settings used by the router manufacturer.

In order to connect wirelessly, all of your devices must now rescan for available wireless networks and connect using the router's default network name (known as the SSID) and password.

That's it, you're done!


Was this information useful?

Quick Access


Ask Jenny a question about Virgin Media services

Existing customer

Not yet a customer

Manage your account with My Virgin Media

Need to get in touch? Find out how to
Contact Us

Get help from others in the Virgin Media Help & Support Forum